Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Armenia, Nepal Join SCO as Partners - Putin

© Host photo agency / Go to the mediabankPress conference by President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin
Press conference by President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin - Sputnik International
Russian President Vladimir Putin stated that Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, and Nepal joined the SCO family "as partners in dialogue."

Russian President Vladimir Putin during a press conference in Ufa - Sputnik International
President Putin Holds Final Press Conference in Ufa
UFA (Sputnik) – Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Armenia, and Nepal have been admitted to the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) on a partner status, Russian President Vladimir Putin said Friday.

"Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, and Nepal have joined the SCO family as partners in dialogue," Putin said during his opening speech at the extended meeting of SCO’s Heads of Governments Council in the Russian city of Ufa.

President of the People’s Republic of China Xi Jinping - Sputnik International
SCO Must Develop Measures to React to Threats Against Member States
Earlier, the SCO had three dialogue partners — Belarus, Sri Lanka and Turkey.

The SCO summit launched the procedures to accept new members, India and Pakistan, the president added. India and Pakistan, currently holding observer status in the organization, applied to join the SCO as full members in September 2014.

The SCO is a political, economic and military alliance founded in 2001 by Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала