Eight Arctic Nations Establish Cooperation Forum - US DHS

© Sputnik / Vladimir Baranov / Go to the mediabankFranz Josef Land archipelago
Franz Josef Land archipelago - Sputnik International
The coast guard agencies of the eight Arctic nations have formed the Arctic Coast Guard Forum to promote cooperation and security in the region, the US Department of Homeland Security (DHS) said in a press release on Friday.

WASHINGTON (Sputnik) — The Arctic is thought to contain enormous untapped resources of oil and gas. Five of the Arctic Circle countries, including the United States, Russia, Canada, Norway and Denmark, have expressed significant interest to explore these national resources.

"The Arctic Coast Guard Forum is an operationally-focused, consensus-based organization with the purpose of leveraging collective resources to foster safe, secure, and environmentally responsible maritime activity in the Arctic," the release stated.

Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Russia and the United States are members of the new Forum.

“Today’s historic Arctic Coast Guard Forum represents a critical step forward in our collective efforts to promote safety, security and environmentally-responsible maritime activity in the Arctic,” US Coast Guard Commandant Paul Zukunft said.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала