Naval Glory: Russia Commemorates Founding of Its Pacific Fleet

Russia marks the creation of its Pacific Fleet on May 21.

It was formed in 1731 at the Senate's order. Currently the fleet comprises 51 surface ships and 23 submarines (including ones with ballistic missiles), aviation, and land troops. The Varyag guided missile cruiser serves as its flagship.

Russia's Baltic Fleet Celebrates Its Birthday - Sputnik International
Russia's Baltic Fleet Celebrates Its Birthday
The Pacific Fleet's HQ is located in the Far Eastern city of Vladivostok.

The Fleet's seamen displayed gallantry and heroism during the Siege of Petropavlovsk (August 1854) by a joint English-French flotilla, as well as during the Russo-Japanese War (1904-1905) and the Great Patriotic War.    

The Pacific Fleet is reliably protecting Russia's security and interests.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала