- Sputnik International
Get the latest news from around the world, live coverage, off-beat stories, features and analysis.

Zimbabwe's Zanu-PF Party Wins Majority in Parliament - Electoral Commission

© AP Photo / Tsvangirayi Mukwazhi, FileZimbabwean vice President Emmerson Mnangagwa greets party supporters at the ZANU-PF headquarters in Harare
Zimbabwean vice President Emmerson Mnangagwa greets party supporters at the ZANU-PF headquarters in Harare - Sputnik International
Parliamentary elections have ended with Zimbabwe’s ruling party Zanu-PF, in charge since 1980, winning an absolute majority of seats in the National Assembly, according to official results, although the figures are preliminary as there are still races to be counted.

"Zanu-PF gets 110 seats, while the MDC (Movement for Democratic Change) gets 41 seats," the state broadcaster ZBC announced, citing the election commission’s results.

The country's parliament consists of 210 seats, so 58 seats are still to be announced.

"We are very happy with the results. So far, it shows that the people of Zimbabwe have entrusted ZANU-PF to lead them and we will do our best to meet the people's wishes in the constituencies that elected us," ZANU-PF spokesman Nick Mangwana told reporters. 

Earlier in the day, Zimbabwean Electoral Commission said that it would announce the results sometime tomorrow.

READ MORE: Opposition Leader Chamisa Claims Win in Zimbabwe Vote Ahead of Official Results

Emmerson Mnangagwa inspects the military parade after being sworn in as President at the presidential inauguration ceremony in the capital Harare, Zimbabwe Friday, Nov. 24, 2017 - Sputnik International
Zimbabwe's 'Political Terrain' Lopsided in Favor of Ruling Party - Analyst
A day earlier, Nelson Chamisa from Zimbabwe's opposition Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) stated his party's victory in the elections ahead of the publication of official results, adding that the MDC was ready to form a new government.

​The presidential results have not yet been announced.

Almost 130 parties, including the ZANU-PF and MDC, took part in the parliamentary elections.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала