- Sputnik International
Get the latest news from around the world, live coverage, off-beat stories, features and analysis.

National Film Awards: Twitter Lauds Actors Vicky Kaushal, Ayushman, Keerthy for Winning Top Honours

© AP Photo / Ahn Young-joonVicky Kaushal
Vicky Kaushal - Sputnik International
New Delhi (Sputnik): Bollywood actor Vicky Kaushal, who played the lead character in war-based movie “Uri the Surgical Strike” bagged Best Actor award on Friday during the 66th National Film Awards of India. He shared the award with actor Ayushman Khurana for crime thriller film “Andhadhun”.

The Best Actress at the 66th National Film Awards went to southern star Keerthy Suresh for her astounding performance in Telugu film “Mahanathi”.

The awards, organised at the central government’s Shastri Bhawan in New Delhi, were declared in 31 categories today.

Ecstatic film buffs seem to be head over heels after Bollywood actor Vicky Kaushal bagged the National Award.

“Uri the Surgical Strike” which was based on a dramatised account of the Indian Army's cross border strike in 2016, proved its metal by winning four awards in total including Best Director, Best Sound Designer, Best Background Music, and Best Actor.

Vicky Kaushal took to Twitter to share his gratitude on winning his first National Award. Vicky also expressed his views on sharing the Best Actor Award with Ayushman.

Global icon, Priyanka Chopra’s production “Paani” won Best Feature Film in the environment conservation category and Akshay Kumar’s “PadMan” bagged the Best Film in the category for Social Issues.

Netizens heaped praise for “Vicky Donor” actor Ayushman Khurana, who also bagged the top honours this year by clinching the National award in the Best Hindi Film category for his film “Andhadhun”.

Others cheered for actor Vicky Kaushal for his performance in “Uri the Surgical Strike”.

Deepika Padukone’s super hit song "Ghoomar" from Padmaavat won the award for best choreography; whereas Sanjay Leela Bhansali won the Best Music Director for “Padmaavat”.

While others, who were rooting for Ranveer Singh, were left surprised at him not receiving any award.

To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала