- Sputnik International, 1920
Get the latest news from around the world, live coverage, off-beat stories, features and analysis.

Nobel Prize in Economics Awarded to Card, Angrist, Imbens

Nobel Prize Medal  - Sputnik International, 1920, 11.10.2021
The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel has been awarded 52 times to 86 laureates between 1969 and 2020.
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded one half of the 2021 prize in economic sciences to David Card and the other half jointly to Joshua D. Angrist and Guido W. Imbens.
"This year’s Laureates ... have provided us with new insights about the labour market and shown what conclusions about cause and effect can be drawn from natural experiments. Their approach has spread to other fields and revolutionised empirical research," the academy said in a statement.
Card was awarded for his "empirical contributions to labour economics", while Angrist and Imbens have been honoured for their "methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships".
David Card is a Canadian-born labour economist at the University of California, Berkeley. His area of scientific interest embraces the economic impact of immigration, wage indexation, and the labour market.
Joshua Angrist is a professor of economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He gained academic fame in urban economics and the economics of education.
Guido Imbens teaches economics at the Stanford Graduate School of Business. He specialises in econometrics.
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала