ISS Orientation in Space Restored With Help of Russian Segment Engines

CC0 / / ISS
ISS - Sputnik International, 1920, 15.10.2021
MOSCOW (Sputnik) - The International Space Station (ISS) restored its orientation in space on Friday with the help of engines of the Russian segment, according to astronauts' negotiations with the flights’ control centre, broadcast by NASA.
Earlier in the day, the ISS lost its orientation in space while testing engines of the Soyuz MS-18 manned spacecraft, which will bring the "cinema crew" back to Earth this weekend.

"The orientation of the station was promptly restored thanks to the actions of the personnel of the ISS Russian Segment Main Operational Control Group. Nothing threatens the station and the crew," the Russian Rocket and Space Corporation Energia, part of the Roscosmos, said.

Previously, cosmonaut Anton Shkaplerov told the Moscow region-based mission control centre that they had "received an emergency message from colleagues [from the US segment of the ISS] about the loss of orientation".
The centre explained that this was a test of the Soyuz MS-18 motion control system, which is usually carried out with activated engines.
Actress Yulia Peresild of the ISS Expedition 66 prime crew puts on her spacesuit at the Baikonur Cosmodrome, in Baikonur, Kazakhstan. The launch of the Soyuz MS-19 mission to be involved in making the feature film The Challenge aboard the International Space Station is scheduled for 5 October 2021 at 11:55 Moscow time from the Baikonur Cosmodrome - Sputnik International, 1920, 05.10.2021
Russian Film Crew Arrives at ISS to Make First Feature Movie in Space
The Soyuz MS spacecraft carrying the International Space Station (ISS) Expedition 66 docked with the ISS on 5 October, bringing actress Yulia Peresild, movie director Klim Shipenko and cosmonaut Anton Shkaplerov to the station. The "cinema crew" arrived at the ISS to shoot the first feature film in space known by the working title "Challenge". They were welcomed by an international crew of Russian cosmonauts Oleg Novitskiy and Pyotr Dubrov; NASA astronauts Mark Vande Hei, Shane Kimbrough and Megan McArthur; Japan's Aki Hoshide; and Thomas Pesquet of the European Space Agency.
To participate in the discussion
log in or register
Заголовок открываемого материала